Swan Lake

23 Mar

Swan Lake is one of my favourite ballets. It’s romantic, often features a large number of tutu clad ballerinas making pretty patterns on stage and has one of my favourite classical scores.

I’ve seen several productions in the past year or two, specifically Matthew Bourne’s and a more traditional performance in the round at the Royal Albert Hall (though it featured an unexpected happy ending). Both were fantastic for different reasons and the Royal Ballet’s production was just as wonderful.

The scenery, as I’ve come to expect from any performance at the Royal Opera House, was spectacular. The Ballroom scene in the second act particularly impressed me, though it reminded me strangely of the Masquerade scene in Phantom of the Opera. An impression intesified by the vibrant costumes and masks held by the dancers during the scene.

My favourite scenes, unsurprisingly, were those involving the swans. I particularly enjoyed the way they portrayed the Evil Spirit’s command over them. Also, the way their arms moved to emmulate flying really stood out for me every time they repeated it.

I have few criticisms, though there are a couple. The celebration scene in the first act did drag on a little and given that they had a may pole, I thought it was a shame that they barely used it. Also, I thought the final ‘jumping to their death in the lake’ scene deserved a bit more drama and emphasis. It felt a bit ‘blink and you’ve missed it’, I know I almost did.

Carlos Acosta played Prince Seigfreid and the few decent parts that he actually had were very impressive. I knew before I went, of course, that the Prince, though often on stage, does very little, but it still seemed a bit of a waste of such a talented dancer. The pas de deux in the third act, however, was truly spectacular.

Tamara Rojo danced the parts of Odette and Odile and was just as wonderful as she always is. After Alice the previous week, it was delightful to see her in a more serious role. Of course, I adore every scene with the swans (the dance of the cignets was particularly enjoyable) but there was just something extra when she was on stage, with or without Carlos. Her pointe work was beautifully elegant and her steadiness totally blew me away. Perhaps another prima ballerina would be just as good, but it doesn’t change the fact that Tamara is a very talented dancer and a pleasure to watch. I also enjoyed Gary Avis who played the Evil Spirit/Von Rothbart.

I ummed and ahhed through most of the evening over whether to go to the stage door or not, but in the end I caved. It turned out to be well worth it as there were far less people than the previous time and I was first in the queue. Not only did I get my programme signed by Gary, Tamara and Carlos (without needing to chase him down the street for it), I also got a photo with him! It was a very exciting evening.

Anyhoo, that’s all I managed to write in the aftermath of the performance and I’ve forgotten what else I may have wanted to say, so I shall leave it there. I saw Aida last night and I will do my best to get that review out tomorrow, but I’m not making any promises. Bobby Cronin isn’t looking too likely either, at least not before America. Did I mention I’m going in a few days?! Steeeeeeeeeeeeeeel!!! Get into it!

So, until next time,

K xx

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.